CBWC | Oshawa/Whitby Chapter

Chapter History

Oshawa/Whitby Chapter History

In recent decades, Oshawa and Whitby residents have witnessed exponential growth in their populations.  Alongside this growth, there has been a significant reshaping of the area’s ethno-racial demographic.   Recognizing these changes, the then Congress’ Ontario Regional Representative,  Ettie Rutherford, set out to address the need for a wider range of social support systems and resources.  For the often marginalized community of black women.  Ettie knew that the answer was the establishment of an Oshawa/Whitby chapter.

On the 17th day of March in the year 2007 at the City of Oshawa, the Oshawa/Whitby Chapter of the Congress was formed when a group of like-minded women came together in show of their commitment to affect positive change for Black women in their community.  Additionally, on this date, an executive was officially elected.

Chapter meetings are now held via ZOOM where we will hear and subsequently address issues of concern or interest to Black women through the planning and implementation of a variety of events, workshops, and activities.

Executive Team

Our Executive Team is comprised of elected members from Oshawa/Whitby chapter.

Angela Todd Anderson


Vanessa Reid


Judy Douglas


Akuah Frempong


Committee Chairs

Our Executive Team is comprised of elected members from Oshawa/Whitby chapter.

Joy Mahorn

Membership Co-Ordinator






Black female boss talking at a meeting

Past Presidents

President Year
Cordelia McIntosh
Denah Smith, Co-President
2007 - 2008
Dena Smith, President
2007 - 2008